Three new sewage treatment plants commissioned in Bangalore

The Bangalore Water Supply and Sewerage Board (BWSSB) in Karnataka has commissioned three new sewage treatment plants (STPs) in the city. These are the Raja Canal STP, the Nagasandra STP and the Chikkabanavara STP. The plants have an aggregate treatment capacity of 65 mld. They have been developed under a Japan International Cooperation Agency (JICA)-funded project for water supply and sewage management in the city. The project involves development of 10 STPs, of which four have been commissioned till date. Other project works comprise the rehabilitation of sewer networks, the reduction of non-revenue water and the installation of supervisory control and data acquisition systems. JICA has extended a loan of Rs 17 billion to BWSSB for the implementation of these works.