Three major ports to be developed as hydrogen hubs

The MoPSW has identified and nominated Paradip port, Deendayal port and V.O. Chidambaranar port for development as hydrogen hubs, capable of handling, storing and generating green hydrogen by 2030, as envisaged in the National Hydrogen Mission. The ministry intends to increase the share of renewable energy to 60 per cent of the total power demand of each of its major ports from less than 10 per cent currently. The ports also aim to reduce carbon emissions per tonne of cargo handled by 30 per cent by the year 2030. Under the green shipping initiative of Maritime India Vision 2030, major ports have implemented and initiated various activities that will help reduce greenhouse gas emissions from the ports and shipping sector, and achieve the targets set by the government for making the maritime sector green and sustainable.