MoR launches Phase I of Station Redevelopment Programme

The MoR has launched Phase I of the Station Redevelopment Programme comprising 23 major railway stations, for which feasibility studies have already been undertaken. These are Allahabad, Mumbai Central, Bandra Terminus, Bangalore Cantonment, Bhopal, Yesvantpur, Faridabad, Secunderabad, Pune Junction, Kozhikode, Thane Junction, Udaipur City, Ranchi, Vijayawada, Lokmanya Tilak Terminus, Kamakhya, Kanpur, Howrah, Indore, Jammu Tawi, Borivali, Visakhapatnam and Chennai Central. Under this phase, Indian Railways (IR) will provide around 140 acres of encroachment-free land to the developers on a lease of 45 years. It is also expected to entail an investment between Rs 60 billion and Rs 90 billion. IR will then launch the redevelopment of over 100 stations under Phase II. The redevelopment of the remaining 277 stations under A1 and A cat-egories will then be launched under Phase III of the programme. Meanwhile, Bansal Pathways Habibganj Private Limited has achieved financial closure for the redevelopment of the Habibganj station. The project for the redevelopment of the Gandhinagar station was also launched recently.