Smart Ganga City Scheme launched across 10 cities

The Ministry of Water Resources, River Development and Ganga Rejuvenation and the MoUD have launched the Smart Ganga City Scheme in 10 cities across the country. These cities are Hardwar, Rishikesh, Mathura-Vrindavan, Varanasi, Kanpur, Allahabad, Lucknow, Patna, Sahibganj and Barrackpore. Under the scheme, projects will be undertaken to create sewerage infrastructure facilities in these cities. The Smart Ganga City Scheme is a part of the centre’s NMCG. District-level monitoring committees will be constituted to ensure speedy implementation of projects. The projects will be based on the recently approved hybrid annuity model.