Central government extends deadline for participation under UDAY

The central government has extended the deadline for states to participate in the Ujwal Discom Assurance Yojana (UDAY) from March 2016 to March 2017. Under UDAY, state governments will be able to take over 75 per cent of discom’s debt by March 2017. Following this, the discoms of Karnataka, Goa and Andhra Pradesh have signed MoUs with the central and state governments. Further, other states that have expressed interest in joining the scheme are Assam, Kerala, Tamil Nadu and Puducherry.