Kerala government to implement AMRUT in nine cities

The Department of Urban Affairs, Government of Kerala, will implement AMRUT in nine cities under the first phase of the mission. According to the state annual action plan (SAAP), a sum of Rs 5.87 billion has been approved for the current fiscal (2015-16). The funds will be spent on undertaking various infrastructure-related projects in Thiruvananthapuram, Kozhikode, Kannur, Kollam, Ernakulam, Thrissur, Guruvayoor, Palakkad and Alappuzha. Under the SAAP, projects have been approved under five heads: water supply, sewerage and septage management, drainage, urban transport; and green spaces. Following the grant of approval of the SAAP, DPRs will be prepared by the concerned authorities.